Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

You might have some questions on how Sadly Unfriended works and operates, so I hope to answer them here for you.

On This Page

  • How Does Sadly Unfriended Work
  • Why is Sadly Unfriended no longer free? Can I get Sadly Unfriended for free still?
  • A good friend of mine is showing in the Unfriended List, why?
  • What information does Sadly Unfriended collect from me?
  • What does Sadly Unfriended do with my information?
  • Can I close my Sadly Unfriended Account?
  • How do I cancel my paid Sadly Unfriended account
  • Is Sadly Unfriended Safe
  • How can I contact Sadly Unfriended?
  • Can I receive a refund for your service?
  • What is a crawl

 

How does Sadly Unfriended work?

When you join Sadly Unfriended, and connect your Facebook account, we gather a list of your friends and their name. We store this data in a database assigned to your account. We then regularly check your Facebook friends list with the list we have stored and compare it. If there are differences, we will let you know.


A good friend of mine is showing in the Unfriended list, and has no profile picture. Why?

When you see a good friend that is in your "unfriended list", it doesn't necessarily mean that they have unfriended you. They may have deactivated their Facebook account, deleted their Facebook account entirely, or even blocked you. When they reactivate their Facebook account, they will appear in the "refriended section".


What data does Sadly Unfriended collect from me?

We collect the following information:

  • Your name
  • Your email
  • Your gender
  • The name of your friends and their profile picture

What does Sadly Unfriended do with my information?

Nothing... apart from providing you with our service and offerings. On the odd occasion, we may send you an email discussing our services, or you or your friends public Facebook image may be randomly displayed on the homepage. Please see our Privacy Policy for additional information.


Can I close my Sadly Unfriended account?

If you no longer want to utilize the services provided by Sadly Unfriended, you can close your account if you wish. Just visit this page to close your account. You will however need to be logged in to access this page. By closing your Sadly Unfriended account, we will remove your friend list data and close your account. You will also be unable to access our exclusive rewards.

IMPORTANT: If you are on a paid plan, currently, closing your Sadly Unfriended account DOES NOT end your PayPal subscription. To cancel payment, please log into your PayPal account and cancel recurring payments with Sadly Unfriended.

How do I cancel my paid Sadly Unfriended account

To downgrade to the free plan, or to cancel your paid Sadly Unfriended subscription, please log into your PayPal account and cancel your ongoing / pre-approved payments with Sadly Unfriended. More information can be found on PayPal's Website


Why does the Friend count on Sadly Unfriended differ from what Facebook says?

You may notice discrepancies of your friend count in what Sadly Unfriended reports and what Facebook reports on your profile.

The friend count that you see on your Facebook includes all friends. This includes, deceased accounts and deactivated accounts. If you count the number of friends in your list you will count a different number again. This list does not show deactivated accounts.

Sadly Unfriended only shows current and active friends. So if someone deactivates their Facebook account, we will report this as an unfriend.


Is Sadly Unfriended safe?

Yes. I created this for myself because I didn't trust any of the other "Who unfriended me" services. I just opened it up so other people could use it.


How can I contact the developer?

You can use the contact form on the homepage and submit the contact form, or you can contact me on Social Media. You can find my profiles on the homepage below the login button.


Why is Sadly Unfriended no longer free? Can I get Sadly Unfriended for free still?

Sadly Unfriended had about 80000 users before Facebook decided that we are providing a "negative user experience" and shut us down. You can read more about it here. So far, they have shut us down twice, which meant more hours rewriting the entire code base again, and again. Due to this, I decided to offer Sadly Unfriended as a premium service. I also noticed that many people visited Sadly Unfriended once, and didn't return, which made checking friends resource intensive. So to provide an optimal and reliable experience for those wanting to use Sadly Unfriended, I removed the free option.

However, as we continue to improve Sadly Unfriended, I will be implementing cool new features that will eventually allow you to use Sadly Unfriended for free. So stay tuned. In the meantime, you have exclusive access to our Rewards Program.


Can I receive a refund of your service?

We offer refunds, however, this is dependant on the plan you select. This will be outlined in the terms and conditions prior to you making payment and upgrading your plan.


What is a crawl?

When we perform a "crawl" we contact Facebook and get an updated copy of your Facebook friends list, and perform a comparison. Depending on your plan, this happens when you log in, or automatically if you have a paid plan.